Pillar of Shame by Jens Galschiøt

Pillar of Shame - 1997

"Pillar of Shame" is part of a  series of sculptures by Danish artist Jens Galschiøt. Each sculpture is an 8-meter tall statue of bronze, copper or concrete.

The sculpture was inaugurated at the NGO Forum of the FAO summit in Rome, 1996. Since then three other pillars have been erected: in Hong Kong, Mexico, and Brazil.

The sculpture serves as a warning and a reminder to people of a shameful event which must never reoccur. 

Happenings / Exhibitions





Galschiøts work


Pillar of Shame